Stewart one of seven Warriors in Scotland matchday squad

Stewart one of seven Warriors in Scotland matchday squad

Grant Stewart could become the latest Glasgow Warrior to make his international debut this weekend, after the hooker was named in the Scotland squad to face France at BT Murrayfield.

The 24-year-old – who only signed his first professional contract with the club in December – has been named amongst the substitutes for Saturday’s match, in what will be his first competitive outing since his try-scoring appearance in May’s Guinness PRO14 Final.

Stewart is one of seven Warriors named in Gregor Townsend’s matchday 23, as the Scotland head coach makes 14 changes to his starting XV.

Tommy Seymour and Peter Horne come into the backline, bringing 91 caps worth of experience between them to proceedings.

In the pack, Scott Cummings will make his first start for Scotland, the second-row having been promoted from the bench following his debut last weekend.

George Turner comes into the starting lineup for the first time since last summer’s meeting with the USA, whilst Ryan Wilson will start at blindside flanker as one of two vice-captains.

George Horne will once again start on the bench, the scrum-half retaining his place in the squad following his cameo in Nice last weekend.

Scotland team to play France at BT Murrayfield

Saturday 24 August, kick-off 1.10pm – live on Premier Sports

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 68 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 50 caps

13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 8 caps

12. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 41 caps

11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 40 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 44 caps

9. Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) – 71 caps

1. Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls) – 35 caps

2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps

3. Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 29 caps

4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

5. Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – 5 caps

6. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps

7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 25 caps

8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – uncapped


16. Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

17. Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)– 20 caps

19. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 34 caps

20. John Barclay (Edinburgh) – 72 caps

21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps

22. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 1 cap

23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 12 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.

sign up