Scotland squad named for Calcutta Cup clash

Scotland squad named for Calcutta Cup clash

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has selected a settled matchday 23 for this weekend’s Calcutta Cup clash against England at BT Murrayfield, as his side looks to register a first victory in the 2020 Guinness Six Nations.

All nine of the Glasgow Warriors representatives selected for last weekend’s trip to Dublin retain their places in the squad, with Scotland looking to retain the oldest trophy in international rugby for a third successive year.

Zander Fagerson continues at tight-head after an impressive outing at the Aviva Stadium, joining club-mate Fraser Brown in the front-row.

Scott Cummings and Jonny Gray are partnered once more in the second-row, the pair having combined for 41 tackles against Ireland last weekend.

Adam Hastings is once again handed the fly-half jersey after an eye-catching tournament debut, linking up with Ali Price in the half-backs.

The all-Glasgow midfield combination of Sam Johnson and Huw Jones is also retained, with both men hoping to replicate previous heroics against the Auld Enemy.

On the bench, George Horne will be ready if and when called upon following his Six Nations debut last Saturday.

Kick-off for the 2020 Calcutta Cup is at 4.45pm on Saturday at a sold-out BT Murrayfield, with the match live on BBC One and BBC Radio Scotland.

Scotland team to play England at BT Murrayfield Stadium
Saturday 8 February (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 73 caps
14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 45 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 24 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 18 caps
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 29 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 4 caps
2. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 47 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 56 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 29 caps
8. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 11 caps

16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 34 caps
17. Allan Dell (London Irish) – 29 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 24 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 23 caps
20. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 11 caps
22. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 4 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 15 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to Glasgow Warriors mailing lists today to receive the latest club news, ticket alerts, merchandise alerts, community rugby activities and offers from our Sponsors & Partners.

sign up