Scotland name nine Warriors in squad for Pool A decider

Scotland name nine Warriors in squad for Pool A decider

Nine Glasgow Warriors will line up as part of Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend’s matchday squad for Sunday’s must-win clash with Japan at the 2019 Rugby World Cup, as the men in blue go in search of a place in the quarter-finals.

Fraser Brown makes his first Scotland start at hooker since last November’s win over Argentina at BT Murrayfield, having enjoyed a 30-minute cameo at openside flanker in Wednesday’s win over Russia.

Brown is joined in the pack by club-mate Jonny Gray, the second-rower coming back into the starting XV having been rested for the match in Shizuoka.

Sam Johnson also at inside centre to win his ninth cap, whilst Tommy Seymour is one of only two survivors from Wednesday’s victory to retain his place in the starting lineup – his try against Russia was his fifth try in six Rugby World Cup appearances.

Five Warriors will start amongst the replacements, including midweek hat-trick hero George Horne and elder brother Pete.

Scott Cummings continues his record of being named in every Scotland matchday squad at this Rugby World Cup, with Zander Fagerson and Ryan Wilson completing the Glasgow contingent.

The match is currently scheduled to take place at 11.45am on Sunday morning at the International Stadium Yokohama, with World Rugby monitoring the progress of Typhoon Hagibis.

Scotland team to play Japan at the International Stadium Yokohama, Rugby World Cup 2019
Sunday 13 October (kick-off 11.45am BST, 7.45pm local time) – live on ITV/STV

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) - 71 caps
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) - 53 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) - 13 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) - 8 caps
11. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) - 8 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) - 48 caps
9. Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) - 75 caps

1. Allan Dell (London Irish) - 27 caps
2. Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) - 45 caps
3. Willem Nel (Edinburgh) - 34 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) - 39 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) - 54 caps
6. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) - 10 caps
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) - 13 caps
8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) - 4 caps


16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) - 32 caps
17. Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls) - 40 caps
18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) - 24 caps
19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) - 7 caps
20. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) - 48 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) - 9 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) - 44 caps
23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) - 16 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.

sign up