New format for 2020/21 Heineken Champions Cup

New format for 2020/21 Heineken Champions Cup

Heineken Champions Cup organisers EPCR have announced that the 2020/21 competition will follow a new structure, with the decision made on an exceptional basis due to the impact of COVID-19.

The format – which will only be used for the upcoming campaign before reverting to the traditional structure for 2021/22 – will see the competition expand to include 24 teams from Europe’s top three leagues.

Season Ticket Members have one week left to renew for 2020/21 - click here for more

The qualified teams will be drawn into two pools of 12, with clubs separated into four tiers for the purposes of the pool draw.

The top two-ranked sides in each league will be allocated to Tier One, sides ranked three and four to Tier Two, fifth and sixth ranked teams to Tier Three and the remaining teams to Tier Four.

Each team will play two home matches and two away matches in the group stages against clubs from outwith their domestic league; Tier One teams will face those from Tier Four, and Tier Two sides will meet those from Tier Three.

Glasgow Warriors are projected to be a Tier Four team, yet final rankings will be confirmed prior to the pool stage draw.

The four highest-ranked teams in each pool will qualify for the quarter-finals, with the remaining teams entering the Challenge Cup at a new round-of-16 phase.

Matchday One fixtures are scheduled for the weekend of the 11/12/13 December 2020, and the Heineken Champions Cup Final will be held in Marseille on the weekend of 21/22 May 2021.

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to Glasgow Warriors mailing lists today to receive the latest club news, ticket alerts, merchandise alerts, community rugby activities and offers from our Sponsors & Partners.

sign up