Eight Warriors selected for Calcutta Cup showdown

Eight Warriors selected for Calcutta Cup showdown

Eight Glasgow Warriors have been named in the Scotland squad for Saturday evening’s Calcutta Cup clash with England, as Gregor Townsend’s men go in search of a first win at Twickenham since 1983.

The men in blue will be looking to eclipse the famous 38-38 draw from their last visit to the home of English rugby in 2019, as they open their 2021 Guinness Six Nations campaign.

George Turner will make his first appearance in the championship, with the hooker packing down alongside club-mate Zander Fagerson in the front-row.

Scott Cummings makes it 18 consecutive appearances in a Scotland jersey, as the former Scotland U20 captain lines up in the second-row.

The back-row sees Matt Fagerson make it back-to-back starts for his country, the number eight having also started against Ireland in the final match of the 2020 Autumn Nations Cup.

Behind the scrum, Ali Price gets the nod at scrum-half, having helped to spark the comeback in the 2019 Calcutta Cup clash.

Two more Warriors will be ready to make an impact from the bench should they be called upon on by Townsend and his coaching staff, with Oli Kebble retained in the matchday 23 after an impressive autumn campaign.

Richie Gray is named in the 19 jersey, the second-rower seeing his blistering form to start 2021 rewarded with a recall to the international setup.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by Huw Jones, with the utility back in line to win his 27th cap at Twickenham.

Scotland team to play England at Twickenham Stadium, 2021 Guinness Six Nations
Saturday 6 February (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on ITV Sport

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 80 caps

14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 50 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 23 caps
12. Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) – 0 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 5 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 51 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 34 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – 61 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 23 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh – 36 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – 0 caps
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps
18. WP Nel (Edinburgh) – 40 caps
19. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 65 caps
20. Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 1 cap
22. Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
23. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps


Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.

sign up