Eight Warriors named for Wales test

Eight Warriors named for Wales test

All eight of the Glasgow Warriors who were selected for last weekend’s historic Calcutta Cup triumph will take to the field once more against Wales at BT Murrayfield on Saturday, as Scotland go in search of a fifth consecutive Guinness Six Nations win.

Gregor Townsend names a matchday 23 showing just three changes from the trip to Twickenham, with his side looking to make it back-to-back victories over Wayne Pivac’s Welsh outfit.

After a barnstorming Guinness Six Nations debut saw him contribute to a flawless lineout in addition to providing the scoring pass for Duhan van der Merwe’s try, George Turner once again starts at hooker for Saturday evening’s clash.

Zander Fagerson joins Turner in the front-row after an industrious shift last weekend, whilst Scott Cummings will look to continue the form that saw him claim seven lineouts at Twickenham last time out – more than any other player on the competition’s opening weekend.

Matt Fagerson retains his place at number eight following a performance that saw him lead the way for Scotland with 16 carries, with Ali Price completing the Warriors starting contingent by lining up at scrum-half.

Oli Kebble is included amongst the replacements, the loose-head having made his Guinness Six Nations debut in the 14-10 victory over Wales at Parc y Scarlets last October.

After making an impact off the bench last weekend, Richie Gray will once again look to influence the match if and when called upon by Townsend and his coaching team.

The replacements are completed by Huw Jones, whose versatility sees him cover the outside back positions from the 23 jersey.

Scotland team to play Wales at BT Murrayfield, 2021 Guinness Six Nations
Saturday 13 February (kick-off 4
.45pm) – live on BBC Sport

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 81 caps

14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 24 caps
12. James Lang (Harlequins) – 5 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 6 caps

10. Finn Russell VICE CAPTAIN (Racing 92) – 52 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 12 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 18 caps
5. Jonny Gray VICE CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 62 caps
6. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 9 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh – 37 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps

16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps
18. WP Nel (Edinburgh) – 41 caps
19. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 66 caps
20. Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons) – 3 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 2 caps
22. Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
23. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 27 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.

sign up