Price to hit half-century of appearances in Montpellier

Ali Price will play his 50th game for Glasgow Warriors against Montpellier in the South of France this weekend. 

Price starts inside of Pete Horne who is one of six changes Dave Rennie has made to the starting XV from last Friday’s fixture against the Frenchmen.

Scotland internationals Lee Jones, Alex Dunbar and Nick Grigg all come into the backline, joining Tommy Seymour and Ruaridh Jackson.

Fraser Brown returns from a head injury to start at hooker, with Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson packing down either side of him.

Kiran McDonald comes into the starting line-up to make his first start in the European Rugby Champions Cup, after coming off the bench last weekend. He joins Jonny Gray in the heart of the pack, while the loose forwards behind them remain unchanged.

Pat MacArthur also returns from injury and is named amongst the replacements.

Elsewhere, the club can confirm that Sam Johnson fractured his jaw in Friday night’s reverse fixture against Montpellier. Johnson has successfully undergone surgery and is expected to be out of action for at least ten weeks. Leo Sarto is undergoing investigation following a shoulder injury sustained in the same match.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: "We played some good stuff last Friday, for periods of that game we were in the driving seat and we're excited to have another crack at Montpellier tomorrow.

"We're dissapointed with the results so far in this comp but we've come up against three of the best sides in Europe and have learnt a lot. 

"The boys will be eager to show what they've learnt tomorrow and put in a more consistent, complete performance

Glasgow Warriors team to play Montpellier in the European Rugby Champions Cup on Sky Sports Action (Red Button), kick-off 1pm (UK Time). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances and Champions Cup appearances in brackets:  

15. Ruaridh Jackson (125) (33)

14. Tommy Seymour (108) (29)

13. Nick Grigg (31) (6)

12. Alex Dunbar (104) (24)

11. Lee Jones (64) (27)

10. Peter Horne (127) (21)

9. Ali Price (49) (13)


1. Jamie Bhatti (17) (3)

2. Fraser Brown (68) (15)

3. Zander Fagerson (59) (16)

4. Kiran McDonald (3) (1)

5. Jonny Gray (78) (24) 

6. Ryan Wilson (136) (24) CAPTAIN

7. Matt Smith (9) (1)

8. Samuela Vunisa (3) (8)




16. Pat MacArthur (162) (36)

17. Alex Allan (62) (17) 

18. Siua Halanukonuka (3) (1)

19. Scott Cummings (29) (4) 

20. Chris Fusaro (128) (28)

21. George Horne (9) (1)

22. Finn Russell (71) (22)

23. Niko Matawalu (83) (23)

Not available due to injury: Brian Alainu’uise (knee), Adam Ashe (ankle), Callum Gibbins (achilles), Rob Harley (knee), Stuart Hogg (hip), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Sam Johnson (jaw), Lelia Masaga (knee), Greg Peterson (ankle), Leo Sarto (shoulder), Tim Swinson (hand) and Ratu Tagive (Achilles).