Hastings and Horne set to make first Glasgow starts

George Horne and Adam Hastings make their first starts for the Warriors as the Southern Kings come to Glasgow for the first time.

A sold-out Scotstoun Stadium will witness the South African side playing their first game on Scottish soil and the game will be broadcast live on BBC ALBA, (kick-off 7.35pm). 

Fresh from signing a new two-year contract this week, Nick Grigg starts outside of the half backs and is joined by Sam Johnson in midfield.

At full-back, Stuart Hogg retains his place and Lee Jones and Niko Matawalu start outside of him, the Fijian making his first start of the season.

Rob Harley captains the side and is joined in the back-row by Matt Smith and Matt Fagerson.

The number 8’s older brother Zander starts in the front-row alongside Alex Allan and Pat MacArthur, while Scott Cummings and Jonny Gray pack down behind them.

On the bench BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy player Stafford McDowall could make his Warriors debut and Lelia Masaga is also in line to play his first game at Scotstoun having recovered from a calf injury.

Ryan Grant is involved for the first time since returning to the club, while Greg Peterson and Lewis Wynne also feature for the first time this season.

Meanwhile, it has been confirmed that Adam Ashe will undergo surgery on an ankle injury sustained in last week's game against Leinster and is expected to be out of action for 10-12 weeks.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: "The previous couple of weeks in Europe have been good for us. It has highlighted the shifts we need to make in our game and the importance of accuracy and the patience to build pressure. We’ve been working hard on that part of the game. 

"The Kings provide a similar challenge, an imposing set piece and an ability to hurt you deep in your territory. We see this game as a chance for redemption and have prepared well. There is a fresh look about our side which is exciting." 

Glasgow Warriors team to play the Southern Kings in the Guinness PRO14 on BBC ALBA (kick-off 7.35pm). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:


15. Stuart Hogg (101)

14. Lee Jones (61)

13. Nick Grigg (28)

12. Sam Johnson (30)

11. Niko Matawalu (78)

10. Adam Hastings (1)

9. George Horne (4)


1. Alex Allan (57)

2. Pat MacArthur (159)

3. Zander Fagerson (57)

4. Scott Cummings (24)

5. Jonny Gray (76)

6. Robert Harley (168) CAPTAIN

7. Matt Smith (4)

8. Matt Fagerson (13)




16. George Turner (7)

17. Ryan Grant (109)

18. Adam Nicol (2)

19. Greg Peterson (22)

20. Lewis Wynne (15)

21. Ruaridh Jackson (120)

22. Stafford McDowall (0)

23. Lelia Masaga (1)


Unavailable players: Adam Ashe (ankle), Brian Alanu’uise (knee), Fraser Brown (knee), Alex Dunbar (knee), Callum Gibbins (head), Pete Horne (head), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Oli Kebble (foot), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Kiran McDonald (thigh), Henry Pyrgos (neck), Ratu Tagive (achilles), Richie Vernon (achilles), Samuela Vunisa (knee) and Ryan Wilson (head).