Hogg returns for Warriors

Stuart Hogg returns to the Glasgow Warriors starting XV for their European Rugby Champions Cup clash against Leinster tomorrow lunchtime, live on Sky Sports (kick off 1pm). 

The full-back hasn’t played since getting injured playing for the British & Irish Lions and having successfully undergone shoulder surgery this summer will feature at a sold-out Scotstoun Stadium for the first time this season.

He joins his fellow Lion Tommy Seymour in the back-three for his first game back, with Leonardo Sarto replacing Lee Jones on the wing.

Sam Johnson starts at outside centre with Ali Price, Finn Russell and Peter Horne dictating play inside of him.

George Turner is the only change in the forward pack, coming in for Fraser Brown, who was injured in the game against Exeter.

Pat MacArthur is the replacement hooker and Nick Grigg and Lee Jones are also named amongst the replacements after starting last Saturday.

Meanwhile, it’s been confirmed that hooker Fraser Brown and second-row Brian Alainu’uese will not require surgery on knee injuries sustained recently and both are expected to be out of action for up to eight weeks.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Dave Rennie said: "This game was always a must win, regardless of the Exeter result. In this competition you need to win your home games and we’ve prepared well and are raring to go.

“Leinster were impressive last week. We are expecting another arm wrestle. It’ll be a brutal encounter.

“Stuart Hogg has really impressed during his time out injured. The energy he brings is infectious, his contribution on and off the field is influential. He’s got himself in great shape and is desperate to get back out there."


Glasgow Warriors team to play Leinster in the European Rugby Champions Cup on Sky Sports (kick-off 1pm). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances and Champions Cup appearances in brackets:

15. Stuart Hogg (100) (31)

14. Tommy Seymour (105) (27)

13. Sam Johnson (30) (9)

12. Peter Horne (122) (20)

11. Leonardo Sarto (12) (8)

10. Finn Russell (69) (20)

9. Ali Price (48) (11)


1. Jamie Bhatti (13) (1)

2. George Turner (6) (1)

3. Zander Fagerson (56) (14)

4. Tim Swinson (104) (26)

5. Jonny Gray (75) (22)

6. Ryan Wilson (C) (133) (32)

7. Callum Gibbins (5) (1)

8. Adam Ashe (45) (7)




16. Pat MacArthur (159) (35)

17. Alex Allan (56) (15)

18. D’Arcy Rae (30) (3)

19. Scott Cummings (23) (2)

20. Rob Harley (167) (34)

21. Henry Pyrgos (132) (28)

22. Nick Grigg (27) (5)

23. Lee Jones (60) (26)


Unavailable players: Brian Alainu’uese (knee), Bobby Beattie (illness), Fraser Brown (knee), Alex Dunbar (knee), Chris Fusaro (head), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Oli Kebble (foot), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Kiran MacDonald (thigh), Ratu Tagive (achilles), Richie Vernon (achilles), Samuela Vunisa (knee).