Rennie makes two changes for trip to Exeter

Dave Rennie has named a settled Glasgow Warriors side ahead of his first European Rugby Champions Cup game this Saturday.

There are two changes to the starting XV that beat the Cheetahs in South Africa last Friday, as the Warrior get their European campaign underway against English champions Exeter Chiefs. Lee Jones returns

Peter Horne starts at inside centre having come on as a replacement in Bloemfontein and Lee Jones, who was rested last weekend, starts on the wing.

Ruaridh Jackson’s experience playing in the Premiership will be invaluable at full-back, while Tommy Seymour completes the back-three.

Nick Grigg is Horne’s partner in the centres while Ali Price and Finn Russell combine at scrum-half and fly-half respectively.

In an unchanged forward pack, Jamie Bhatti makes his European debut at loose-head, as does Callum Gibbins at 7.

On the bench, George Turner is another player experiencing the Champions Cup for the first time, while Niko Matawalu could feature against his former club.

Meanwhile, winger Rory Hughes has successfully undergone shoulder surgery and is expected to be unavailable for selection for between four and six months.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “It’s a fantastic competition and one we’re looking forward to getting stuck in to. We want to test ourselves against the best teams and Exeter are exactly that.

“We played well in patches in South Africa and dealing with the conditions the way we did will benefit our fitness in the long run. We’ve had a good week of training back at Scotstoun and are raring to go.
“Naming a settled squad will help with consistency. Combinations are beginning to click and we’re prepared for a physical match-up in a hostile environment."
Glasgow Warriors team to play Exeter Chiefs in the European Rugby Champions Cup on BT Sport (kick-off 7.45pm). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances and Champions Cup appearances in brackets:

15. Ruaridh Jackson (119/31)

14. Tommy Seymour (104/26)

13. Nick Grigg (26/4)

12. Peter Horne (122/18)

11. Lee Jones (59/25)

10. Finn Russell (68/19)

9. Ali Price (47/10)


1. Jamie Bhatti (12/0) 

2. Fraser Brown (66/14)

3. Zander Fagerson (55/13)

4. Tim Swinson (103/25)

5. Jonny Gray (74/21)

6. Ryan Wilson (132/31) CAPTAIN

7. Callum Gibbins (4/0) 

8. Adam Ashe (44/6) 




16. George Turner (5/0)

17. Alex Allan (55/14)

18. D’Arcy Rae (29/2)

19. Scott Cummings (22/1)

20. Rob Harley (166/33)

21. Henry Pyrgos (131/27)

22. Sam Johnson (28/7)

23. Niko Matawalu (77/21)


Unavailable players: Brian Alainu'uese (knee), Alex Dunbar (knee), Chris Fusaro (head), Stuart Hogg (shoulder), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Oli Kebble (foot), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Ratu Tagive (achilles), Richie Vernon (achillies), Samuela Vunisa (knee).