Gray returns for historic match in South Africa

Jonny Gray returns for Glasgow Warriors' historic first Guinness PRO14 match against the Toyota Cheetahs in Bloemfontein tomorrow evening (live on BBC ALBA, kick-off 7.35pm).

Dave Rennie has named a much changed side following last weekend’s victory over Benetton Rugby and Gray and Fraser Brown return to the starting XV having recovered from a wrist and an ankle injury respectively. Fraser Brown made his comeback from the bench last weekend.

Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson both return to join Brown in the front row while Tim Swinson partners Gray in the second-row.

Captain Ryan Wilson once again starts on the blind-side and Adam Ashe and Callum Gibbins both come back into the team at Number 8 and open-side respectively.

Ali Price and Finn Russell are the half backs. Outside of them, Sam Johnson wears 12 having secured a bonus point for the Warriors last weekend with a try deep in injury time.

Nick Grigg starts at outside centre. In the back-three Leonardo Sarto joins Tommy Seymour and Ruaridh Jackson.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: "It's great having Jonny (Gray) back. He's been working hard for a lot of weeks jumping out of his skin, so we're excited to have him in there.

"With Jonny and Fraser (Brown) back it gives us more experience on the field and they both bring a lot of physicality, which is going to be important against the Cheetahs.

"The Cheetahs can play a couple of different games. They have a big pack who can maul well and they have some real gas out wide, so they're prepared to play.

"We'll have to be accurate and really disciplined, but we want to play and hopefully the conditions will allow us to do that.

"Scott (Cummings) and Lee (Jones) have played all five games this season, plus the two trial matches we had before that, so it's a case of trying to freshen those guys up."

Glasgow Warriors team to play Toyota Cheetahs in the Guinness PRO14 at the Toyota Stadium, Friday 6 October, live on BBC ALBA (kick-off 7.35pm UK time). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets: 

15. Ruaridh Jackson (118)
14. Tommy Seymour (103)  
13. Nick Grigg (25)
12. Sam Johnson (27)
11. Leonardo Sarto (11)
10. Finn Russell (67)
9. Ali Price (46)

1. Jamie Bhatti (11)
2. Fraser Brown (65)
3. Zander Fagerson (54)
4. Tim Swinson (102)
5. Jonny Gray (73)
6. Ryan Wilson (131) CAPTAIN
7. Callum Gibbins (3)
8. Adam Ashe (43)


16. George Turner (4)
17. Alex Allan (54)
18. D’Arcy Rae (28)
19. Brian Alainu’uese (20)
20. Rob Harley (165)
21. Henry Pyrgos (130)
22. Peter Horne (121)
23. Niko Matawalu (76)

Unavailable players: Rory Hughes (shoulder), Chris Fusaro (head), Lelia Masaga (calf), James Malcolm (ankle), Alex Dunbar (knee), Stuart Hogg (shoulder), Oli Kebble (foot), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Ratu Tagive (achilles), Richie Vernon (achilles) and Samuela Vunisa (knee).