Rennie rings the changes for visit of Benetton

Dave Rennie has made nine changes to his starting XV as Glasgow Warriors host Benetton Rugby at Scotstoun Stadium tomorrow night (kick-off 7.35pm).

With the game not televised, Scotstoun is the only place to watch the Warriors this weekend and fewer than 100 tickets are still available to purchase from 

The Italians come into the game off the back of victories against Ednbiurgh and Ospreys and Rennie has named an experienced squad with the starting XV boasting over 1,200 accumulative Warriors appearances.

Tommy Seymour plays at home for the first time this year, joining Lee Jones and Ruaridh Jackson in the back three.

Sam Johnson and Nick Grigg combine in the midfield with Peter Horne shifting to fly-half and Henry Pyrgos starting at 9.

Up front it’s a brand new front row with Alex Allan and D’Arcy Rae starting either side of Pat MacArthur.

Brian Alainu’uese joins Scott Cummings in the second-row and behind them three centurions complete the forward pack in the shape of Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro and Ryan Wilson.

On the bench Fraser Brown is involved for the first time this season following his recovery from an ankle injury.

Brandon Thomson is another to feature for the first time this year having signed from The Stormers permanently this summer and Niko Matawalu is in line to make his Scotstoun return.

Matt Fagerson, who has signed a professional contract with the club until 2020, could feature from the bench.

Glasgow Warriors Assistant Coach Kenny Murray said: “Benetton look as if they’re playing with a lot more confidence and ambition.

“They’ve moved the ball well against teams this year and we need to be ready to defend well against them. 

"They’ve got a big forward pack and are very direct in their game plan.

“The boys are really looking forward to playing at home again and backing up last week's performance.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Benetton Rugby in the Guinness PRO14 at Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 29 September, untelevised (kick-off 7.35pm). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets: 

15. Ruaridh Jackson (117)
14. Tommy Seymour (102)
13. Nick Grigg (24)
12. Sam Johnson (26)
11. Lee Jones (58)
10. Peter Horne (120)
9. Henry Pyrgos (129)

1. Alex Allan (53)
2. Pat MacArthur (157)
3. D’Arcy Rae (27)
4. Brian Alainu’uese (19)
5. Scott Cummings (21)
6. Robert Harley (164)
7. Chris Fusaro (126)
8. Ryan Wilson (130) CAPTAIN


16. Fraser Brown (64)
17. Jamie Bhatti (10)
18. Adam Nicol (1)
19. Tim Swinson (101)
20. Matt Fagerson (12)
21. Ali Price (45)
22. Brandon Thomson (3)
23. Niko Matawalu (75)

Unavailable players: Rory Hughes (shoulder), Kiran McDonald (hip), Leonardo Sarto (ankle), Alex Dunbar (knee), Jonny Gray (wrist), Stuart Hogg (shoulder), Oli Kebble (foot), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Ratu Tagive (achilles), Richie Vernon (achilles) and Samuela Vunisa (knee).