Warriors duo selected for Lions duty

Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour have been selected in a 41-man British & Irish Lions squad for this summer’s tour of New Zealand.

The 10-game tour will begin on Saturday 3 June when they’ll face Provincial Union Team in Whangarei.

Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour have been selected for the British & Irish Lions tourOther games include an encounter with Dave Rennie’s Chiefs on Tuesday 20 June, while the three Tests against New Zealand will be played on Saturday 24 June, Saturday 1 July and Saturday 8 July.

Full-back Hogg was the youngest player included on the 2013 Lions Tour to Australia, and although he didn’t break into the Test team, he made five appearances in the famous red shirt.

He lined up at full-back, wing and fly-half and crossed for a try and kicked six conversions for a 23-point haul in his outings against the Barbarians, Queensland Reds, NSW-Queensland Combined County XV, the Brumbies and the Melbourne Rebels. 

The 24-year-old has scored 24 tries in 99 appearances for Glasgow, while for Scotland he has scored 15 tries in 53 games.

Earlier this season he signed a new contract with the Warriors until May 2019.

Seymour, who also signed a new contract with the Warriors earlier this season until May 2019, has 32 tries in 99 

outings for Glasgow.

The Scotland international winger has scored 16 tries in 36 appearances for his country.

It will be the first time Seymour has toured with the British & Irish Lions.

We’ll have reaction to the announcement across our channels this afternoon and there will be a Warriors HQ Lions special this evening at 6pm on Warriors TV. 

Lions tour to New Zealand 2017 

Game 1: Saturday, June 3 v Provincial Union Team in Whangarei

Game 2: Wednesday, June 7 v Blues in Auckland

Game 3: Saturday, June 10 v Crusaders in Christchurch

Game 4: Tuesday, June 13 v Highlanders in Dunedin

Game 5: Saturday, June 17 v Maori All Blacks in Rotorua

Game 6: Tuesday, June 20 v Chiefs in Hamilton

Game 7: Saturday, June 24 v All Blacks in Auckland

Game 8: Tuesday, June 27 v Hurricanes in Wellington

Game 9: Saturday, July 1 v All Blacks in Wellington

Game 10: Saturday, July 8 v All Blacks in Auckland