Townsend names experienced squad for trip to Cork

Gregor Townsend has named a 23 boasting over 1,500 Glasgow Warriors appearances to face Munster in the Guinness PRO12 this Saturday, kick-off 7.35pm. 

Stuart Hogg starts at full-back with Tommy Seymour and Lee Jones either side of him, the latter scoring in last weekend’s Champions Cup quarter-final against Saracens.

Alex Dunbar is joined in the midfield by Nick Grigg, who sits second in the PRO12 stat charts in terms of defenders beaten this season, with 45 in his 12 games so far.  

Finn Russell and Ali Price combine at fly-half and scrum-half respectively.

In the front-row Sila Puafisi joins Fraser Brown and Gordon Reid, while Brian Alainu’uese and captain Jonny Gray pack down behind them.

All three loose forwards from Allianz Park retain their places, with Rob Harley, Ryan Wilson and Adam Ashe completing the starting XV.

On the bench centurions Pat MacArthur, Chris Fusaro, Henry Pyrgos and Peter Horne will all bring their experience to the field should they come on.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: “We have had some great battles with Munster already this season and we are expecting the same on Saturday evening.

“They bring physicality and intensity on the same level as a Test match and we are going to have to perform very well in those aspects of the game to get a positive result. 

“We didn’t get things right last weekend against Saracens but things move on pretty quickly in sport and we now have an opportunity to show a true reflection of the rugby we are capable of playing. We are determined to deliver a much better performance over in Cork. ”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Munster in the Guinness PRO12 at Irish Independent Park, Saturday 8 April, live on BBC ALBA (kick-off 7.35pm). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

15. Stuart Hogg (98)

14. Tommy Seymour (98)

13. Nick Grigg (17)

12. Alex Dunbar (96)

11. Lee Jones (51)

10. Finn Russell (61)

9. Ali Price (39)


1. Gordon Reid (111)

2. Fraser Brown (61)

3. Sila Puafisi (40)

4. Brian Alainu’uese (13)

5. Jonny Gray (70) CAPTAIN

6. Rob Harley (159)

7. Ryan Wilson (126)

8. Adam Ashe (36)




16. Pat MacArthur (151)

17. Alex Allan (47)

18. D’arcy Rae (22)

19. Scott Cummings (14)

20. Chris Fusaro (122)

21. Henry Pyrgos (121)

22. Peter Horne (111)

23. Rory Hughes (30)


Not available due to injury: Mark Bennett (knee), Zander Fagerson (foot), Simone Favaro (knee), James Malcom (ankle), Leonardo Sarto (shoulder), Josh Strauss (medical) and Richie Vernon (achilles).