Six internationals return for Paris trip

Simone Favaro is one of six returning internationals to the Glasgow Warriors side for the European Rugby Champions Cup fixture against Racing 92 Live on BT Sport this Saturday.Simone Favaro returns to the Glasgow Warriors side in Paris tomorrow

Favaro was named Man of the Match in Italy’s victory over South Africa during the Autumn series, and went on to captain his country for the first time the following weekend.

He starts at open-side flanker, joining Number 8 Ryan Wilson and Rob Harley in the back-row.

Jonny Gray is another of those returning, captaining the side from the second-row alongside Tim Swinson.

Up front, Zander Fagerson starts at tighthead, packing down next to Fraser Brown and Gordon Reid.

Stuart Hogg, who will be looking to bring his international form back to the club game, starts at full-back.

Tommy Seymour and Lee Jones start on the wings and Sam Johnson is joined by the returning Alex Dunbar in midfield.

Finn Russell is at stand-off, outside of last weekend’s Man of the Match and try-scorer Ali Price.

Co-captain Henry Pyrgos is involved for the first time since the home game against Treviso having overcome a knee injury and he starts on the bench.

Lock Brian Alainu’uese is also named among the replacements and could make his European debut for the club.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: “We have a huge challenge ahead of us this weekend against one of the best teams in Europe, but we will travel to Paris with belief in achieving something special. 

"We know Racing 92 well having played them twice last season and have learned a great deal from those experiences. 

"We have also been boosted by our returning international players who have helped us have a very good week of training."

Glasgow Warriors team to play Racing 92 in the European Rugby Champions Cup at Stade Yves-du-Manoir. Saturday 10 December live on BT Sport 3 (kick-off 3.15pm UK time). You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearnaces and European appearances in brackets:

15. Stuart Hogg (90) (26)
14. Tommy Seymour (91) (21)
13. Alex Dunbar (88) (19)
12. Sam Johnson (18) (5)
11. Lee Jones (41) (20)
10. Finn Russell (53) (14)
9. Ali Price (31) (5)

1.Gordon Reid (103) (17)
2. Fraser Brown (54) (9)
3. Zander Fagerson (40) (8)
4. Tim Swinson (86) (38)
5. Jonny Gray (Captain) (63) (16)
6. Rob Harley (146) (28)
7. Simone Favaro (24) (6)
8. Ryan Wilson (119) (26)


16. Corey Flynn (8) (8)
17. Alex Allan (34) (9)
18. Sila Puafisi (31) (16)
19. Brian Alainu'uese (3) (0)
20. Josh Strauss (98) (19)
21. Henry Pyrgos (112) (23)
22. Mark Bennett (58) (10)
23. Sean Lamont (104) (58)

Not available due to injury: Adam Ashe (hip / foot), Scott Cummings (shoulder), Peter Horne (knee / ankle), Rory Hughes (knee), Peter Murchie (trunk), Greg Peterson (shoulder), D'arcy Rae (calf), Leonardo Sarto (shoulder), Tjiuee Uanivi (shoulder) and Richie Vernon (shoulder).