2016/17 BT Sport Academy players announced

Scottish Rugby today announced the the latest group of players selected for the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy for the coming season.

Many names will already be familiar to fans of Glasgow Warriors and the BT Premiership, Lewis Wynne has played in all of the Warriors’ GUINNESS PRO12 fixtures so far this season.

Matt Fagerson and George Horne will be hoping to emulate the success of their older brothers and join them in the senior squad in the future, both players impressing in Glasgow’s pre season victory over Canada ‘A’ in Stirling.

Robert Beattie, Jamie Bhatti and Calum Hunter-Hill also featured in the 63-0 win at Bridgehaugh and are joined in the Glasgow & the West Stage 3 Academy by Bruce Flockhart, Matt Smith and Sam Thomson.

Jade Konkel’s inclusion makes her the first full time female player in Scottish Rugby history.  

Having featured in all of Scotland’s 6 nations matches last season, the 22-year-old has been named a Stage 3 Academy Member, demonstrating a huge step forward in the development of the women’s game in Scotland.

Recent graduates of the Academy system include Ali Price, James Malcolm, Scott Cummings and Nick Grigg who all signed full professionals ahead of the 2016/17 season.


BT SPORT ACADEMY STAGE THREE (11 new players: four new and seven promoted through the programme):


Borders & East Lothian: Darcy Graham (Hawick), Gary Robertson (Gala).

Edinburgh: Jason Baggot (Melrose), Luke Crosbie**, Thomas Gordon*, Cammy Hutchison** (all Currie), Murray McCallum (Heriot’s), Ross McCann** (Melrose), Grant McConnell (Boroughmuir), Charlie Shiel** (Currie), George Taylor (Melrose), Daniel Winning* (Boroughmuir).

Glasgow & the West: Robert Beattie* (Glasgow Hawks), Jamie Bhatti* (Melrose), Matt Fagerson**, Bruce Flockhart, George Horne (all Glasgow Hawks), Calum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County), Jade Konkel** (Hillhead Jordanhill), Matt Smith, Sam Thomson* (both Glasgow Hawks), Lewis Wynne (Stirling County).

London Scottish: Cammy Fenton (Stirling County), Hugh Fraser (Heriot’s), Tom Galbraith (Melrose), Patrick Kelly (Glasgow Hawks), Ally Miller (Melrose), Ben Robbins (Currie).