Blend of experience and youth in Warriors side to face Canada ‘A’

Club rugby talent takes centre stage in Stirling tomorrow night as Warriors announce their squad to face Canada ‘A’ in their final warm-up game before the start of the season.Lee Jones will start for the Warriors tomorrow evening

Captained by Scotland international Peter Murchie, the starting XV boasts four club players and a partnership player, and will see Fijian scrum-half Nemia Kenatale make his debut.

Despite the GUINNESS PRO12 kicking off this weekend, head coach Gregor Townsend has named a strong side to face Canada ‘A’, with the squad amassing 187 Warriors caps.

It will be a very special evening for Callum Hunter-Hill pulling on a Warriors jersey at the club he plys his trade and he is joined in the backrow by Ayr’s Peter McCallum and Zander Fagerson’s younger brother Matt, who plays for Glasgow Hawks.

Sam Thomson, also of Hawks, will partner USA international Greg Peterson in the second-row behind the front row of Alex Allan, James Malcolm and D’arcy Rae.

Hawks fans will be excited to see that nine of their players are involved in the Warriors matchday squad, with partnership player Hagen Schulte playing outside Kenatale at fly-half.

Lee Jones returns to the XV-a-side game after spending time with team GB 7s, while Junior Bulumakau occupies the other wing.

Captain Murchie completes the back-three while Fraser Lyle and Nick Grigg start in the midfield.

Rory Hughes will be looking to bring his international experience to the match from the bench and Peter Horne’s younger brother George also features among the replacements.

Cammy Fenton, who is currently on loan at London Scottish, has been released to feature in this game and Melrose and Currie fans will look forward to seeing Jamie Bhatti and Thomas Gordon play in Warriors colours.   

Glasgow Warriors team to face Canada ‘A’, Bridgehaugh Park, Tuesday 30 August (kick-off 7.35pm) – Tickets available in advance HERE and on the night (cash only):

15. Peter Murchie (Captain) 14. Junior Bulumakau 13. Nick Grigg 12. Fraser Lyle 11. Lee Jones 10. Hagen Schulte 9. Nemia Kenatale  

1. Alex Allan 2. James Malcolm 3. D’arcy Rae 4. Sam Thompson 5. Greg Peterson 6. Callum Hunter-Hill* 7. Matt Fagerson* 8. Peter McCallum  

Replacements: Jamie Bhatti, Cammy Fenton*, Jarrod Firth, Kiran McDonald, Thomas Gordon*, George Horne*, Josh Henderson*, Rory Hughes, Patrick Kelly*, Robert Beattie.

* Member of the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy

Written by
Jack McIlroy Reid