Glasgow Warriors 'A' triumph in derby

Earlier today Glasgow Warriors ‘A’ defeated Edinburgh ‘A’ at Broadwood Stadium, 26-5 in a match where the Warriors scored four tries with Chris Fusaro, Bruce Flockhart Rory Hughes and Javan Sebastian all touching down.

The 60-minute match gave a number of players the opportunity to get game time.

Junior Bulumakau started in the backline along with Rory Hughes, while Duncan Weir and Ali Price were the half-back pairing.

Chris Fusaro captained the side.

As is the case with ‘A’ fixtures, a number of players who have caught the eye for their local clubs featured such as Patrick Nicol from Stirling County and Scott Bikerstaff from Marr.

Before the game, both teams paid their respects to Jonah Lomu who passed away this morning as well as the people who lost their lives in the Paris attacks.

Glasgow Warriors started strongly in blustery conditions with Chris Fusaro diving over for a try first of all following a driving maul, before Duncan Weir slotted the conversion. Ali Price

Ali Price impressed for the Warriors and made a number of clever breaks as well as executing tactical kicks. 

With 17 minutes on the clock, after weathering an Edinburgh storm, Glasgow scored a second try, this time through BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 player, Bruce Flockhart.

At the break, the Warriors were in front 12-0.

In the second period, Kenny Murray rang the changes with Cammy Fenton replacing James Malcolm and impressing.

The Warriors then began to turn the screw and scored two tries in quick succession, firstly though Rory Hughes and then Javan Sebastian to give their team a commanding 26-0 lead.

In the dying moments, Edinburgh grabbed a consolation with Jack Cuthbert taking advantage of space on the left wing and dashing over for a try.

Full highlights of the game and reaction from Kenny Murray and Sam Johnson will be on Warriors HQ tomorrow.

Glasgow Warriors: 15. Nyle Godsmark (Melrose), 14. Junior Bulumakau, 13. Nick Grigg 12. Sam Johnson 11. Rory Hughes 10. Duncan Weir 9. Ali Price 1. Alex Allan 2. James Malcolm 3. Mike Cusack 4. Greg Peterson 5. James Eddie 6. Tyrone Holmes 7. Chris Fusaro (Captain) 8. Bruce Flockhart.

Subs: Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Javan Sebastian, Cameron Fenton, Will Bordill, Matt Smith, Andy Redmayne (Glasgow Hawks), Patrick Nicol (Stirling County), Scott Bikerstaff (Marr), Gregor Hunter, Archie Russell (BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 player).

Written by
Michael Lamont