Hogg and Gray nominated for RBS 6 Nations award

With the world’s eyes on the RBS 6 Nations, Glasgow Warriors were heavily involved in the showpiece sporting event with a number of players reaching special milestones. Stuart Hogg

Euan Murray became Scotland’s most capped prop with 66 appearances, while Finn Russell, Mark Bennett, Fraser Brown, Adam Ashe, Peter Horne and Gordon Reid took part in their first RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Stuart Hogg made the most metres in the Championship and beat the most defenders, while Jonny Gray made the most tackles with 84, missing only one.

Those stats only go to show the impact both Gray and Hogg had on the tournament and they have both been nominated to be Player of the Championship.

Last Saturday saw the climax of the tournament where Scotland were defeated 40-10 against Ireland who went on to lift the trophy at BT Murrayfield following a heart-stopping finale to the tournament.

Scotland’s try was scored by Finn Russell, which was his first as a professional. He then was awarded Young Player of the Year by Friends of Scottish Rugby.

The night before, Scotland under-20s capped a memorable campaign, with a 17-10 victory over Ireland under-20s to maintain their unbeaten record at Netherdale this year.

The result meant that the Scotland age-grade side secured a third place finish, the highest in their history thanks to a 17-10 win over Ireland at Netherdale.

Involved in the game was Zander Fagerson, Scott Cummings and Andrew Davidson.

Finn Russell and Peter Horne’s siblings, Archie and George also played starring roles.

All the age grade sides won at the weekend including the under-18s on Saturday morning where Zander Fagerson’s brother Matthew scored a try in a 21-13 win against Ireland Schools.

On the Sunday afternoon, Glasgow Warriors Game On Project Development Officer, Lindsey Smith featured for Scotland Women’s against Ireland where they lost 73-3 with the visitors lifting the RBS 6 Nations trophy.

Click here to vote for Stuart Hogg and Jonny Gray as RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship

Written by
Michael Lamont