Townsend wins coach of the year award

Gregor Townsend won the RaboDirect PRO12 Coach of the Year award in Dublin last night, in his first season in charge at Scotstoun.

The Warriors coach pipped Ulster’s Mark Anscombe and Treviso’s Franco Smith to the award after Glasgow claimed a record number of wins during the campaign and finished in third place.

Glasgow will play Leinster in the play-offs on Saturday at the RDS in Dublin.

The Warriors also had the most players in the RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team, which included Al Kellock as captain, along with Stuart Hogg, Niko Matawalu and Ryan Grant.

RaboDirect PRO12 award winners 2012/13

Player of the Season - Nick Williams (Ulster)

Young Player of the Season - Luke Marshall (Ulster)

Coach of the Season - Gregor Townsend (Glasgow Warriors)

Chairman's Award - Michael Swift (Connacht)

Rhino Golden Boot - Ian Madigan (Leinster)

Rhino Collision Kings - Scarlets

Specsavers Fairplay Award - Ulster

RaboDirect Straight Talking Award - Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

Try of the Season - Andrew Trimble (ULSTER v Connacht)