Honours Even After U16 Encounters

Rugby supporters were treated to two high-scoring U16 age-grade thrillers last week, with the honours even at the end of the night.

The Glasgow Warriors Black's beat Edinburgh Rugby Red's 38-24, but the Glasgow Warriors White's went down 38-29 to the Edinburgh Rugby Black's.

Scotland's two professional clubs will also field sides at under-17 and under-18 level.

The derby series doubles as the climax of a revised five-year performance pathway programme for the country's top young talent, with Glasgow Warriors selected from the Glasgow and Caledonia clashes and Edinburgh Rugby age-grade sides picked from the best of the Borders and Edinburgh matches.

Glasgow Warriors White v Edinburgh Black

1 Owen Jackson (Robert Gordon's/Mackie)

2 Connor Crawford (Queen Ann HS/Dunfermline)

3 Adam Nicol (Queen Ann HS/Dunfermline)

4 Angus Grindly (Westhill Academy/Aberdeen Wanderers)

5 Lee Scott (Dumfries)

6 Bruce Flockhart (Highland RFC)

7 Walker Graham (Hutchesons/GHA)

8 Matthew Emmison (Ellon)

9 Andrew Simmers (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks)

10 John McCorkindale (Wellington/Ayr)

11 Jonny Tawse (Robert Gordon's)

12 James Long (Deeside)

13 Gregor Paxton (Grange/Kilmarnock)

14 Sam Gray (Ayr)

15 Christian Avis (Madrass)

16 Ryan Dunlop (Ayr)

17 Ryan Gallacher (Highland)

18 Cameron Morrison (Gairoch)

19 Calum Harris (Bell Baxter/Howe of Fife)

20 Connor Holborn (Strathallan School)

21 Taylor Pilkington-Tate (Orkney)

22 Sandy McCallum (West of Scotland)

23 Campbell Scott (Hutchesons/GHA)


Glasgow Warrior Black v Edinburgh Rugby Red

1 Lyall Archer (Highland)

2 Jack Soloman (Kelvinside)

3 Fergus Bradbury (Oban Lorne)

4 Scott Cummings (Kelvinside)

5 Andrew Davidson (Kelvinside/Glasgow Hawks)

6 Lewis Wynne (Stirling County)

7 Angus Neilson (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks)

8 Zach Mercer (Williamwood/GHA)

9 Henry Sampson (Dunde High School)

10 Josh Henderson (Strathallan School)

11 Oscar Welch (Kelvinside/Glasgow Hawks)

12 Charlie Lonergan (St Aloysius/GHA)

13 Bruce Sorbie (Robert Gordon's)

14 Jacob Adamson (Dollar Academy)

15 Keiran Bremner (Bell Baxter/Howe of Fife)

16 Christopher Gibson (Cartha)

17 Graham Allan (St Columbas)

18 Rowan Armstrong (Garnock)

19 Ollie Davidson (Glenalmond College/Howe of Fife)

20 Declan McLaughlin (Hutchesons/GHA)

21 Sam Graham (Cartha)

22 Euan Fox (Dundee Eagles RFC)

23 Calum Glover (Dalziel)